Which road trip character are you?

26 May

WHICH ROAD TRIP CHARACTER ARE YOU?  The greatest thing about the vast Australian landscape is the variety of road trips it offers, but the quality of the journey often depends on the characters you travel with.

I conquered one of the most well-travelled routes, from Sydney to Brisbane, in a single day over the recent weekend, rushing because I had to move furniture to a new apartment in Brisbane in time to fly back to Sydney for work on Monday (click here to read why). The journey stretches over 900km along the east coast and boasts sights such as South West Rocks and The Big Banana. But unfortunately I never had time to see the sights during my rushed ride and, because I slept for around half of the journey, I barely even saw the road.

What I realised is that I fall into one of the typical road trip character categories: the sleeper.

You can identify sleepers by their inability to maintain consciousness during sessions longer than an hour in the car, by their constant yawning, failure to sit upright, tendency to casually nod and say “uh huh” rather than to continue conversations, and for their inability to carry out tasks for up to ten minutes after arriving at the destination.

I have always been a sleeper and suspect it’s in my genes because my dad is infamous for falling asleep mid-sentence and while standing up. I know being a sleeper is a pain in the neck for others, especially when travelling in pairs, but alternative road trip characters aren’t much better.

There’s the gamesperson who badgers others to play Eye Spy and The Numberplate Game. The DJ-roadie who hogs the car stereo. The attention-seeker that commands the spotlight and talks about them self for the entire journey (I really hate that one). But the worst of all is the doo-doo guy or girl that requires a rest stop every half hour.

After considering other possible personas to adopt for my next road trip, I decided I should be the driver. Because no matter what your character is, everyone needs to put up with you in order to get from A to B.

By Marissa Toohey


4 Responses to “Which road trip character are you?”

  1. Shea May 27, 2010 at 11:38 AM #

    You slept the whole way!

  2. Gregg Nance May 29, 2010 at 10:12 PM #

    Heh I’m really the first comment to this awesome writing!

Leave a Reply

