Giving and receiving "last looks"

31 May

GIVING AND RECEIVING “LAST LOOKS”  The “last look” is something you receive when you say goodbye to someone and know there’s a chance you won’t see each other for a long time, or never again. During the weekend I received a dozen last looks as I caught up with old friends at my hometown and shared the news about my impending move to Vietnam and intention to continue traveling. I expected the last looks to feel awkward and sad, but my friends looked at me with such warmth and excitement that I really, really enjoyed it.

Image from sydneycityvisits.com

Because I am moving away for a new and exciting job, people are joining me in celebration. Compared to sombre and disappointing seperations in the past, when friends and colleagues have moved away for other reasons, my depart appears to be refreshing and exciting for others to hear. And after many hard effects of the GFC last year, it’s nice to share some positive news.

At the end of this week I will finish working with my current company and experience a whole new round of last looks, this time from colleagues. Now I’m looking forward to receiving the looks and, as I walk out the doors of the office and leave the city I have lived in for all of my life, I’ll be looking back very fondly as well, thinking there’s a chance it might be for the last time.

By Marissa Toohey


4 Responses to “Giving and receiving "last looks"”

  1. Greg May 31, 2010 at 8:11 PM #

    Hi M

    I enjoyed reading “last looks” and while I share the excitement for you and your new adventure it is with a slightly heavy heart.

    It is good fortune that we have memory and that last looks can be recalled and relived. Farewell and enjoy!

    • theBubbleBuster June 1, 2010 at 8:48 AM #

      Greg, you are very sweet. I predict a couple of tears on Friday with comments like these … 🙂

  2. Rodney June 3, 2010 at 7:52 AM #

    WTG Marissa, I wish you all the fun and adventure your heart desires, if only I was 25 younger……………

    • theBubbleBuster June 3, 2010 at 8:18 AM #

      haha thanks Rodney! It’s been a blast working with you.

Leave a Reply

