The new Hanoi

31 Jul

THE NEW HANOI  I spent my first few days in Hanoi around the Old Quarter, developing impressions of the city based wholy on the most chaotic part of the region. My rigorous schedule of training and orientation never allowed for sight seeing, which left me and my friends feeling overwhelmed and craving an escape from the Old Quarter. But I got my escape during the last couple of days and I’ve been up to a few interesting things.

I escaped the Old Quarter.

I rode a scooter for the very first time, thanks to instructions from my lovely language teacher, Thu.

I went for a stroll around the turtle lake and Orr stopped for a palm reading with the lady with two hats.

I had my first entirely Vietnamese conversation at the Literature Temple.

I went to Hoa Lo and saw the conditions POWs endured during the American War. Pictured is a typical cell.

I went to Ho Chi Minh's mausoleum, where the Vietnamese leader's embalmed body is on display.

I attended my first expat party, in sweltering heat (even though it was night). Pictured are some of my volunteer friends at the party: Dave, Ed and Monica.

I have sampled a few interesting meals, including the dish pictured with eight types of mushrooms and tomato arranged as a rose.

2 Responses to “The new Hanoi”

  1. steve August 2, 2010 at 3:23 PM #

    Good to see you wearing your PPE when riding a motorbike. 🙂

    • theBubbleBuster August 4, 2010 at 1:59 AM #

      hahaha I thought you might like that one Steve! I’ve got some great shots of people working without harnesses, people chopping down trees into the middle of major traffic with no signs, and gazillions of tangled electrical cables. It’s just crazy.

Leave a Reply

